Homeschooling from Minnesota

The family: Michael, Vicky, Marc, and Charity.

Please introduce yourself and your family to us, and also tell us what country and/or state you are from.

Our family consists of two kids, Marc, age 18, and Charity, age 11. We live in the Twin Cities of Minnesota, USA. My husband, two cats, an adopted brother/uncle/brother-in-law, and myself complete our family. 

How long have you been homeschooling ?

We have homeschooled our entire education journey. My kids have never attended a regular school.

Why did you decide to homeschool?

It was not my plan, but God led in that direction through a variety of shut doors. What began as a one-year journey is now going on 13 years with my kids, plus two additional years when I tutored other children when Marc was a toddler.

What style of homeschooling does your family follow?

My own. In a pure sense it is probably closer to school at home because of my tutoring and working with other children who had the goal of returning to the classroom.

Charity mentors a group of third-grade students as part of her orchestra’s outreach program.

Do you have a philosophy about homeschooling?

Make sure you are committed, your spouse and family are committed, and that you can endure through the hard times. Let God lead, and be open to change as situations develop. Be willing to change if your plans aren’t a good fit for for you, your child, or family. Have fun. Pray without ceasing.

What kinds of tools, resources, or curriculums do you use to homeschool and why?

We use books, the internet, friends, and extended family…anything that would be of interest.

Marc plays guitar during Pathfinder Sabbath.

My curriculum is eclectic now, but I started out in my early years using a boxed curriculum. In my early research I found that a single-publisher curriculum such as Abeka or BJU or other complete curriculum produced the best results in a classroom setting, so I went that route. Later on as I got to know my son’s needs, I branched out.

Are you the primary “teacher” or does your spouse or other family members participate with homeschooling?

I am the primary teacher, but we use Skype for selected classes such as Spanish with the Homeschool Spanish Academy and for tutoring help from my parents. (Please note my son is in an online school and not being homeschooled at this time.) My kids also have different teachers for music.

What does a typical homeschooling day look like in your home?

Morning routine is pretty relaxed, with us in the classroom having worship between 8:30 and 9 a.m. Lunch is about 12 noon. Afternoon activities vary in time: orchestra on Monday evening, mentoring on Tuesday afternoon, violin lesson on Wednesday afternoon. choir Thursday evening, and Pathfinders on the weekend.

Marc works on Tuesday, and has choir Wednesday evening.

Marc on the first day of his senior year (U.S. grade 12)

What do you love the most about homeschooling, and what do you dislike the most?

I love the flexibility, and the ability to adapt to the current situation and to focus on special units based on current interest or upcoming travel.

Is there anything you would like to share about your homeschool? 

I am so glad God led us in this road even though it isn’t always easy. 

Susanna
at

Susanna is now a “retired” home educator of three precious, young, successful, adult daughters, whom she taught from preschool to year 12. She is married to Michael, and with much enjoyment she serves in her current role of homemaker. She is passionate about children’s ministries, teaching the kids at church, and being a support and encouragement to the international Seventh-day Adventist homeschool movement.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *